The Phoenix Is Rising!

Chinese surgeon Hua To (A.D. 190-265) studied the movements of the tiger, bear, monkey, deer, and the bird and transformed them into excercises. Other animals that are copied in the Martial Arts for fighting purposes are the crane, eagle, leopard, mantis, cat and the ever painful when done the right way, horse stance. Dragon and the phoenix eye fist are present as well. The punch is referred to as the rams head and a back kick is called mule kick in certain styles. And while in Pittsburgh this year for the Black belt Hall of Fame induction weekend, I was fortunate enough to witness the Lion dance ceremony.

Phoenix Martial Arts System is adopting totem Animals of its own for the essence that lies behind them.

 The Phoenix  is symbolic of change as it is constantly consumed by the fire only to rise from the ashes reborn. This is also akin to the martial Arts saying,”Get knocked down 7 times but get up 8 times.”

The Bear is a symbol of awakening the power of the unconscious. Go inside and awaken the potentials inherent. Trust yourself and spend time in introspection.

The Deer for us is associated with gentleness but also with a ferociousness in battle when cornered that is unsuspected. There are stories of hunters being attacked by deer that they thought they had killed but in actuality they only wounded. The hunter quickly becomes the victim.

The Hawk symbolizes guardianship and visionary power. They are the protectors. And their sharp talons and beak can rip and tear into an adversary.

The Mountain Lion symbolizes leadership. And the Mountain Lion also is decisive in the use of personal power. “When it attacks it does not hesitate.”

The Wolf is the pathfinder and/or teacher. But Wolf  also symbolizes guardianship, loyalty, and ritual.

So with in the Phoenix Martial Arts there are elements of  change and growth. Introspective time to learn who and what you all about. Protection of yourself and others. Leadership is a key factor as well as being decisive and discovering your personal power. Loyalty  and honor  your self and others!!!

So there are the five animals of the Phoenix and what they represent.  The Phoenix is rising.


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s